“Sometimes being a bitch is all a woman’s got to hold onto.”

DCTitle:  Dolores Claiborne
Author:  Stephen King
Publisher:  Viking, 1993
Genre:  Confessional
Pages:  305

essjay’s rating:  4/5
Heather’s rating:  4/5

Synopsis:  Dolores Claiborne’s long-time employer is dead. Dolores is questioned by the police. The whole book is Dolores’ first-person narrative of her life story (in one continuous chapter), for the benefit of the police.

Grey = essjay
Blue = Heather

While we were reading…

While we were reading...

When we were finished…

When we were finished

P.S. In case you were wondering, we checked on that Dolores Claiborne vs. Misery rating thing. Many of the men who rated Dolores Claiborne a one-star novel also gave Misery five stars. Not saying that means anything, but…heh.

5 comments

  1. First: HOORAY for this blog and hooray for getting a peek into your conversations. Awesome.

    I remember reading this for the first time and when I read the connection to Gerald’s Game I thought I was losing my mind. Wait, haven’t I read this scene in a different book? I called my husband into the room (boyfriend at the time…it’s been that long) to tell him that I thought I was insane because I swore this scene was in another book. I didn’t have an internet to go to at the time so I just sat in my insanity for a few years until I was aware of Steve’s tricky tricks.

    Sometimes being a bitch is all a woman’s got to hold onto is one of my fave King quotes. Damn right.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Three cheers for leaving our first comment! [high five]

      We just read Gerald’s Game last month(?), but I can’t remember reading those particular scenes with Dolores in them. Like I said in our discussion, though, GG really messed with my sanity in general. Haha!

      I love that quote, too. I’m glad essjay suggested it for the post title.

      Like

    2. I didn’t have an internet to go to at the time so I just sat in my insanity for a few years until I was aware of Steve’s tricky tricks.

      I wrote this LOOOOOONG letter to SK about the Flagg connections when I was in my early 20s, but never sent it.

      Like

  2. This one is pretty close to the top of my TBR. I loved Rose Madder, and I am generally okay with stream of consciousness reading. Although this does sound like it’d be interesting on audio.

    Like

Join the discussion!

